Setting Resolutions Like a Champ

It’s true, New Year’s Resolutions are corny and cliche, but I don’t care! I love them and it gives me yet another timely excuse to make a list. I’m in. I was a bit too overwhelmed last year (ya know, with a newborn and such), but I’m back on the trolley to kick off 2016. Here are a few I’ve come up with:

1.Fitness

No excuses, play like a champion. I go through spurts where I make time to work out and then huge droughts. My resolution is simply to make some time to do SOMETHING every day. A hike, a walk or some push ups … maybe some yoga or kick boxing if I’m feeling saucy. Getting back in the habit is my gateway drug, and I know I will be addicted and want to up the ante as I go along. As I get back on the horse, I’m planning on checking out some new fitness classes, including Orange Theory and a new yoga studio, as well as hitting up some old favorites, like FlyWheel.

fallhike11

2. Cooking

Now that I can occupy Ella a little bit better with her toys, a book or a bucket of tea bags, it’s time to get back in the kitchen. I miss cooking (the kind I plan for and anticipate, not the kind where I panic at 4:00pm because we don’t have any groceries and I have no idea what to make for dinner). Time to start meal planning,  creating and savoring. I’m revving up over on Pinterest with this board for me and this board for Ella, in case anyone wants to follow along or suggest any pinnables for me!

beet-burger

Image from The Awesome Green

 

3. Organization

We have already begun the renovations on our house (I will be posting about these projects SOON), and that means I’m ready to keep my house looking the way I love it at all times. Getting rid of things we don’t want or use, and keeping everything else organized and accessible.

51b6922efb04d67b5d001937-_w-540_s-fit_

Image from Apartment Therapy

 

4. Ella

There are so many thoughts swirling around in my head about how I could do better with respect to Ella (welcome to parenthood!), but the three most important to me are:

-continuing to find new things to do with her and places to explore. That means taking advantage of a flexible work schedule and researching and planning ahead.

-setting a good example. As she starts to repeat things we say and pay INTENSELY close attention to everything we do, it has never been more important to model the actions and behavior I hope to see from her.

-fill her life with laughter, music, baking, cooking and books. ‘Nuff said.

bakingbaby

5. Relax

Let it go. Chill. Breathe. Smile. Be Kind. Forgive. Free Your Mind. Just a few mantras for 2016 to keep the stress levels low.

Let it go. Chill. Breathe. Smile. Be Kind. Forgive. Free Your Mind.

Leave a comment